Hall of Fame

Hero bottom frame

Hall of Fame nominations are currently being accepted for 2020. Voting is open to all Historical Society Members. Not a member? Join today!

The 2019 Boone County Hall of Fame “History Makers” Gala
Enshrining The Honorable Ann Covington, the late Don Faurot, and Buchroeder’s Jewelry was on November 1, 5:30pm – 9:30pm, at the Atrium at 10th and Walnut Streets in Columbia, Missouri. The evening’s emcee was Dr. Peter Stiepleman.

Sponsors To Date

Gold – Boone Electric Cooperative
Silver – Select Scores ACT Prep,
Bruce & Betsy Odle
Bronze – Frank & Michelle Baumstark,
Shelter Insurance
Supporters & Underwriters – Allen’s Flowers, Bley & Evans Attorneys, Boone Hospital Center, Chris & Kellie Campbell, Columbia Marketing Group, Kathy Digges, Landmark Bank, L.G. Patterson Photography, Jim Marberry, MFA Incorporated, Alan & Sandra Norton, Rich & Peggy Poe, Bob & Connie Pugh, Mary Ann Shaw, Allyn Sher & Barbara Tellerman, Janet Thompson, University Concert Series

Table Sponsors – Bank of Missouri, Wilson & Jan Beckett, Commerce Bank, Hawthorn Bank, Landmark Bank, Bruce & Betsy Odle, Stephens College, Brian & Gwen Struchtemeyer, Mike & Melanie Staloch, Veterans United, The Wulff Family, MayeCreate, The Menser Family, Central Bank of Boone County, Gary & Carol Smith, Columbia College, The Evoke Group, Socket, Stephens College, LaBrunerie Financial Services, Lisa Weil

The Boone County Hall of Fame

Members of the Boone County Hall of Fame are recognized for their lasting contribution to the county through their professional or philanthropic life.  Each year one living recipient, one posthumous honor and one business or organization are selected for enshrinement.  Currently, there are 64 members of the Boone County Hall of Fame.  Members have demonstrated professional or philanthropic excellence, creativity, or initiative for the community that created a lasting and positive impact. Members are also selected because the provided valuable service to improve the quality of life for others in their community, either through their work, personal sacrifice, teaching or building.  Lastly, members are selected because they brought positive distinction upon themselves and the community through extraordinary achievements that brought statewide or national recognition.

Hall of Fame Enshrinement Gala

The date for the 2019 Enshrinement Ceremony and Gala was November 1, 5:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. at the Atrium Event Center at the corner of 10th and Walnut Streets in Columbia. The previous year’s inductees were the late Eliot and Muriel Battle, former University of Missouri basketball coach Norm Stewart and Boone Electric Cooperative. The evening included hors d’oeuvres, wines, beers, a live auction, and video tributes to the enshrinees. 

Heart and Hands Icon

2019 Enshrinees

Living Recipient

The Honorable Ann Covington

Business Honoree

Buchroeders Jewelry

Posthumous Recognition

Don Faurot

This Year’s Living Recipient

Ann Covington

The 2019 living recipient is retired chief justice of the Missouri Supreme Court, the honorable Ann Covington.  Covington was the first female to serve the Show-Me State in a number of crucial judicial roles. She was selected to serve as a judge on the Missouri Court of Appeals in 1987, named to the Missouri Supreme Court in 1989, and was the first female chief justice in 1993. For all this and more the American Bar Association recognized her as one of the Women Trailblazers in the Law.

Covington has also been active in higher education. She served on the University of Missouri Board of Curators from 2013 to 2015 and has served for many years as a member of the Truman Scholarship and Mark Twain Fellowship committees at MU and mentored many law students.  In 2017 she was inducted into the Missouri Public Affairs Hall of Fame.  She earned her juris doctorate from the University of Missouri School of Law and has been a Columbia resident for 51 years.



The Business or Organization Honoree


Buchroeders Jewelry

The 2019 organization or business inductee is Buchroeders Jewelry. Founded in 1896, Buchroeders is the leading provider of diamonds and engagement rings in the Midwest. It is one of Columbia’s oldest, continually operating businesses.

Mills Menser, president and owner of Buchroeders, is a Boone County native who purchased Buchroeders from his father in 2007. His father, Michael, purchased it from the Buchroeders family in 1971.  Buchroeders has successfully transitioned their business model from a traditional jewelry store into a modern, high-volume bridal boutique and through its purchasing arm, diamondbanc.com, it acquires diamonds and jewelry nationwide, and has locations in Kansas City, Charlotte, and is coming soon to Atlanta. 

This Year’s Posthumous Recognition

Don Faurot

The 2019 posthumous recognition goes to a pioneer in American College Football and a true son of Missouri, the late Don Faurot (1902 – 1995).  Faurot was a football, baseball and basketball player, coach and college athletics administrator.  Through those roles he had an eight-decade association with the University of Missouri. Faurot was the athletic director at Missouri from 1935 to 1942 and again from 1946 to 1967. He lettered in three sports at Missouri in the early 1920s: in football, as a halfback, basketball and baseball.

Faurot was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as a coach in 1961.  His major contributions were two-fold: retiring the $500,000 debt through scheduling Ohio State over nine of 11 years (losing all of them) and most notably to the game of football through his innovation of the Split-T offense at Mizzou in 1941. In the post-World War II era, many coaches adopted the Faurot formation.  More than 60 years later, it is still in vogue today at all levels of football. Several of football’s most notable formations—the Wishbone, Wingbone, Veer or I-attack and others—utilize Faurot’s option play as their basic concept.  

In 1972, the Tigers’ football playing surface was officially named Faurot Field in his honor. In 1995, he placed the final square of sod as MU successfully converted the stadium’s floor back to natural grass.